1st XI Match Report -v- Rush – BKISC – April 29th

courtesy of Conor Dillon

Phoenix at Rush 29/04/12

The temperature hovered around 6.5 degrees for this Irish Senior Cup qualifier with most sensible men following the fortunes of  Leinster in the Heineken Cup. With Conor Kelly injured and the rules not permitting Phoenix to select McKay and Stennkamp together  Chris Cavanagh was recalled to the side and there was a first eleven debut for Eoin Cleere. The captaincy was assumed by Jonty Wardell . The Phoenix eleven was: Chris Cavanagh, Eoin Cleere,  M D Masud Ahmed, Syed Ali, Jan Hendrik Steenkamp, Amit Battan, Osama Khan, Captain Jonty Wardell, Thomas Anders, Rory Anders, Sadaf Raza. Phoenix won the toss and inserted Rush.

Dev Dismore saw a little action as twelfth man during this innings which had Steenkamp and Cavanagh taking the new ball. The lean South African bowled a spell of 5 overs for 15 and later admitted ruefully that he had chosen the wrong end to bowl from. Cavanagh dismissed Sheehan in his first over with Raza taking the catch and was both economical and threatening throughout his unbroken ten over spell and also removed Sheridan who was caught by Ali and Jansen caught by Steenkamp. Thomas Anders bowled a steady spell of 5 overs for 19 and Masud and Raza then bowled 6 overs each without giving too much away.  Rory Anders struggled a bit as the batsmen hit out but he broke what could have been a  strong partnership when he had Monks caught by Masud. Wardell must have pondered his bowling options a little as the scoring rate increased in the later overs but the wickets began to come as the batsmen hit out with Masud having Shahid Iqbal caught by Battan and Steenkamp’s last two overs saw Farrell and Amir Iqbal out caught Raza and bowled respectively. Thomas Anders removed Mullan and Butterly as the innings closed on 210 for 9. Wardell and Raza took the catches. Shahid Iqbal top scored for Rush with 70 with Monks second on 40.

The Phoenix reply began at 3.46 with gloomy predictions that the rain would arrive by 5.00. However, this seemed to allow enough overs to constitute a match with Duckworth Lewis to decide the winners. Masud Ahmed and Eoin Cleere were the opening pair with Masud being aggressive from early on and Cleere content to occupy the crease and where possible to give his partner the strike. Rush used a number of bowlers but the opening stand had passed 100 before Cleere was dismissed in the 14th over for 9 with McGuire the successful bowler as Mullan took the catch. Syed Ali was number three for Phoenix and although his innings contained eleven dot balls he helped Masud to push the score along to 142 for 1 after 21 overs before rain brought an end to the day’s play. Masud finished on 91 not out and Ali on 21 not out as Phoenix triumphed on the Duckworth Lewis method.

Phoenix Bowling:      C Cavanagh 10-1-28-3

Phoenix Batting:         M D Masud Ahmed 91 not out