Extra. Extra. Extra. We bowl loads of them!

A couple fo match report from William Clarke esq to keep people up to date

The Hills 3 v Phoenix 4 Milverton 25/05/2015 Whelan Cup

On a cool Monday evening, the 4s made the trip to Milverton to face The Hills in the Whelan Cup.

Phoenix were asked to bat.  Naeem played out a maiden for the first over before getting into his stride.  A brisk 29 set Phoenix on their way.  Akarsh and Dismore made contributions but the main stay of the innings was Grant White.  His 53 (11 fours) came off 28 balls helped Phoenix to a respectable 146 for 6 off 20 overs.  Anders and The Admiral contributed a few runs at the end.

Clarke and Kearney opened the bowling and managed to keep the scoring rate down.  They finished with identical figures of 0 for 23 off their 5 overs.

The Hills opening batsmen then started to up the run rate with young Harry Archer taking control.  Despite wickets from, Dismore, Naeem and Anders, The Hills only needed a few runs off the last over.  With 2 balls to go, they got the runs needed to level the scores thus ensuring they would win having lost fewer wickets.

It was great game, played in a competitive but sporting style.  A proper cricket ground that rewarded good shots added to the enjoyment of both teams.

This is a game Phoenix should have won.  146 was a good score.  However, Phoenix conceded 28 extras (B9, LB4, W14, NB1).  This has been the major issue for the 4s so far this season.  It is time for the bowlers to concentrate on hitting their lines and lengths and to forsake some of their electrifying pace.

The Hills 3 are the visitor to the Park on Bank Holiday Monday.  No doubts it will be another cracking game on a proper cricket ground.

The team:  John Anders (c), Grant White (wk), Naeem Shahzad, Raj Gopal, Akarsh Nalawade, Devon Dismore, Michael Godwin, Aidan Chester, Sarfraz Ramay, Denis Kearney, W. DNB Clarke.

Sorry but we had to edit this!

Sandyford 2 v Phoenix 4 Marley Park 24/05/2015

After the wash out in Corkagh Park, Phoenix 4s made the trip along the M50 to Marley Park.

After winning the toss, Captain Anders elected to bat.  Sarfraz and Lineesh opened.  There’s was a patient opening partnership.  Very patient.  The run rate didn’t get above 2 until the 18th over.  While some of this was watchful batting a lot was down to the meadow we were playing in.  The best chance of scoring runs was to hope the opposition couldn’t the ball in the long grass.  Luckily for Phoenix all the players were of significant stature so no one was lost during the game.

After the openers departed, for 26 and 12, Godwin (15), Afkar (34), Gopal (17) and Dismore (19) helped keep the innings on track.  In a very rare appearance with the bat, Clarke hit 11* to get the score up to 159.

Again, Phoenix 4s managed to bat their overs.  159 was a good score considering the condition of the meadow ground!

Clarke and Kearns opened the bowling.  Clarke picked up his first wicket in his 5th over.  Kearns picked up a wicket in his opening spell when he bowled the other opener.

A further 3 wickets fell with 2 for Dismore and 1 for Sarfraz.  The sixth wicket partnership of 48 got Sandyford back in the game.  Then Afkar broke the partnership on 126.

Clarke was brought back into the attack and removed the dangerous Joshi with the score on 136.

Then things started to happen.  A number of appeals fell on deaf ears which was remarkable as the umpire managed to hear his phone ringing in his pocket as Nathan was running in bowl.  To make matters worse, he answered it.  This seem to spur Nathan on as he bowled the batsman next ball.

Nathan then picked the 9th wicket of the innings.  This left Sandyford requiring 5 runs to win which they managed with a few overs to spare.

It was an extremely disappointing and frustrating day for lots of reasons.

Nathan finished with 3 for 15 and 2 catches.

If there was a positive to be taken from the day, all our league games from now are in grounds that have toilets and such luxuries!

The team: John Anders (c), Michael McDonough (wk), Sarfraz Ramay, Lineesh Ramachandran, Michael Godwin, Afkar Ahmed, Raj Gopal, Devon Dismore, Ronan Harris, Nathan Kearns, Willie Clarke.